What are server mergers?
A server merger joins multiple separate game worlds into one, allowing players from different worlds to play together in a single unified server. When a server merger takes place, the servers that are to be joined will be disabled, and after a procedure that may take up to 2 hours, a new merged server will open where everyone will be able to pick up where they left, together with players from other worlds. After the process is complete, all players will get a confirmation email and the new server will become available to play.
Server merging is carried out once a year, always at the beginning of March.
- New merged servers are always economy super speed (meaning: super speed in everything except travel times, which will remain standard).
- When existing special servers (e.g. peace, war) are merged, they lose the special features of that server after the merge, and the special characteristics will no longer apply in the new server.
- No duplicate accounts are allowed. If you have accounts in multiple servers and these merge together, you must choose one account to continue playing and abandon or give away the rest (See below under “Keep in mind”).
- A transition period of 48 hours will take place where you’ll be able to relocate your cities and change your name for free (See below under “Transition period”)
There will be a transition period for 48 hours on newly merged servers, during which:
- Attacks to other players will be temporarily disabled (but nomad camps are exempt and can be attacked freely)
- The Cobra and Cat statues (see items in the Game Shop) will be free, so you’ll be able to change your and your tribe’s name freely during this time.
- The White, Red and Double Crown (you will find these items in the Game Shop) can be used for free, so you’ll be able to relocate all your cities freely during this time. Note that there is a cooldown of 12 hours for the use of each of the crowns.
Please keep in mind the following:
- One account only: In order not to breach the multi-accounting rule, in case you play on several servers with different accounts, after the merge is complete you may only continue playing with only one of the accounts. You can opt to either set the remainder account(s) in vacation mode, give them to other players/friends to play, or delete them (via settings -> delete account).
- (!) Please note: after the merge is completed, no transfers of troops/resources are allowed from the account you decide to abandon, to the account you wish to continue playing. Non-compliance is subject to sanctions for multiaccounting.
- Same email address: In case you play on several servers using the same registered email address for all accounts, only the account with the highest score will be migrated, and the rest will be lost. In order to preserve all accounts, you will need to change the associated email address in each account so they don’t match. However, keep in mind that the prior point applies in this case, so do it only if you want to hand the other account(s) to someone else.
- Same player name: If it happens that two different players have the same player name on different servers, when the merge takes place such accounts will be renamed automatically to avoid duplicate names. You will have the chance to change your name after this (see transition period).
- All tribes will be disbanded, the resulting merge server will start fresh tribe-wise, and everyone will have to form new tribes. As a result, all tribe wall messages will be lost, so make sure to make a copy of any important messages in the tribe before the merge takes place.
- All private messages and reports will be discarded, hence make sure to make copies if you have any important messages or reports stored in your inbox.
- All cities will be relocated to a random but close to the center (500:500) position, in practice most people will be located next to everyone else. If you need to relocate your cities after the merge, you will be able to do so (see the point below regarding the transition period).
- All troop movements will be canceled, for this reason make sure to stop all troop movements by the time the merge begins. If you can’t help having a troop moving by then, don’t worry, the troops will not be lost, but the mission will be canceled on your behalf.